Marathon complete

7 Dec

I ran it in 4:12. It was awful and wonderful, and I can’t wait to do it again!

I had posted earlier about a developing injury due to an inflamed IT band. After switching shoes – twice – I finally got it under control. Amazingly, by switching shoes and easing the intensity of my training, I was able to reach the starting line on race day without even the slightest twinge of pain in my leg. The entire race – all on asphalt – went off without an ache besides the usual soreness that comes with running 26.2 miles. I’d go over the race experience mile by mile, but it’s not all that important. I will admit that I did walk some (a very hard thing for me to ever do while running) for a total of about 10 minutes during miles 18-24.  However, I finished, and I am at peace with every step, walked or run, that got me to that finish line in the end. The highlight of the whole race was the surprise audience I had at mile 25, so tantilizingly close to the end. My family, who had claimed not to be able to come watch, was there, smiling and cheering for me, and I ran the entire last mile with a smile and more energy in my step than I’d had since before mile 18. With Brandon’s family a quarter-mile from the finish, I finished with gusto, which made up for the pessimistic thoughts I had developed from having to walk in the first place.

It took me a few weeks to absorb the importance of what exactly I accomplished, but now I feel it and am raring to go again.

Brandon also did very well. He finished in 4:05, puked his guts up at the end, but ran every step of the way.

Up next? Half marathon, Austin, TX, Valentine’s Day 2010. Goal: 1 hr, 45 mins. Training starts December 8th.

Leave a Reply

