Mushroom and leek soup

15 Jan

This recipe is surprisingly good. It’s also from the Gourmet Every Day cookbook.

I was very skeptical when I picked out this recipe. For one, it yeilds only 3 cups, so it had to be made on a night when I didn’t need leftovers. Also, leeks can be pricey, and I often avoid buying them because recipes will call for one or two when they come in bunches of 3 or 4. I usually freeze the leftover leeks for making stock, but generally, I do avoid them altogether. Plus, they’re so hard to wash!

However, this recipe ended up tasting amazing. The butter and leeks completely assault your senses (in a good way) during the cooking of the soup, and mushrooms and butter are a combination meant for the gods. I used the “Better Than Bouillon” vegetable broth paste again, and the slight tangy soy sauce taste in it went perfectly with the mushrooms and accompanying chives that are sprinkled on top just before serving.

This was one of the tastiest soups I’ve made in a long time, and I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

