Espinacas con garbanzos

29 Apr

I have had this post in my drafts folder for quite a while.  It’s probably been about a months and a half since I made it.  I probably won’t do justice to it with this post, but I had to get it out there.  This is simply one of the most delicious things I’ve ever made.

I found this recipe for Spinanch and Chickpeas, or espinacas con garbanzos, on another food blog I like (which is also on my blogroll) called Smitten Kitchen.  The woman who created and maintains that home-cooking blog usually gets her recipes from elsewhere but alters them slightly or adds suggestions.  Thus, the link will take you to her version, the one I followed, but it is not the original.  The dish is actually a standard one in Spanish cuisine, which I have heard is some of the most delicious food in the world.

As you can see from the picture, the dish is savory and gooey.  If you use dried chickpeas instead of canned ones, you’ll have a subtle hardness in the peas that makes this dish perfect in consistency as well as flavor.  I used frozen and fresh spinach; fresh tastes better, but the dish is great with either one or a combination.  And, if you have a pressure cooker, using dried chickpeas doesn’t take all day (though you can always presoak); I almost doubled this recipe, and they were done in about 30-45 minutes total.

The garnish for this dish is a sprinkling of paprika.  I tried it with both sweet smoked Pimenton and hot Spanish paprika; they both tasted fine, but I preferred the sweet.  It goes well with the subtle sweetness of the tomato sauce that helps congeal the other ingredients.

I made this recipe with a side of jasmine rice with some onions, turmeric and cumin.  It’s pretty much the same as the recipe described at the very end of this earlier post of mine.  I overcooked it a bit, but it still turned out pretty.

Leave a Reply

