Indian chai

20 May

First and foremost, I must mention that I have not actually tried this recipe.  While sorting through all my worldly possessions, I came across it in the back of a CD insert booklet for a Putumayo Presents: Music from the Tea Lands CD that I’ve had for years now.  I just noticed the recipe today, and as I’ve always wanted to make my own chai, I thought I’d add it here so I can access it when I’m finally able to prepare this one.

If you prepare it before me and think it’s not a good recipe, let me know!

Indian Chai
There are hundreds of variations of chai, the Indian spiced milk tea.  Here is a good basic recipe:

1.5 cups water
1 in. stick of cinnamon
8 cardamom pods
8 whole cloves
2/3 cups milk
6 tsp. sugar (or to taste)
3 tsp. any unperfumed loose black tea

Put water in saucepan.  Add the cinnamon, cardamom and cloves and bring to a boil.  Cover, turn heat to low and simmer for 10 minutes.  Add the milk and sugar and brings to a simmer again.  Throw in the tea leaves, cover and turn off the heat.  After 2 minutes, strain the tea into two cups and serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

