Hainan Island (August 2010)

13 Aug

“Lady Gaga sure is popular here.”

This is what I was thinking at around 10:37 yesterday morning as I said goodbye to the beach.  A taxi was blasting “Poker Face;”  a few days ago the coffee shop I was in played “Bad Romance,” and the other night I heard a woman with a nice but very husky voice sing a decent cover of “Alejandro” in a beach-side bar.  Actually, Lady Gaga is hugely popular all over China, but the “here” I’m referring to now is Sanya, a laid-back, sunny city on the southern tip of Hainan Island.

I spent the last week there, and I really wish I didn’t have to leave.  I’ve realized that I’m in love with the ocean.  I haven’t spent much time in my life near an ocean, but the hypnotic cadence of the waves sucked me into their hold forever.  I’m still a little drunk on the cathartic, volatile serenity of water crashing onto sand over and over, thousands of times a day and thousands more all night, unceasingly, enduringly, forever.  The ocean thus has a timeless quality, and anything that seems timeless, to me, is utterly godlike and – by default, I think – mysterious and enrapturing.

I will miss the quiet beach now that I’ve returned to the noisy, massive city of Guangzhou, but perhaps I’ll return there before I leave China.  By air, Sanya is just over an hour away!

Here’s a picture of the beach, but if you want to see more, check them out on Photobucket.

3 Responses to “Hainan Island (August 2010)”

  1. Constanza August 13, 2010 at 21:18 #

    Lady Gaga, huh ? Haha. The beach, the ocean and the waves, sound amazing. Great post Rob, made me feel like I was there.

  2. Constanza August 13, 2010 at 21:20 #

    Aw! Great pix. The best are the ones of your feet in the sand and water. xox

  3. Lisa August 26, 2010 at 10:39 #

    Stunning! When your journey’s are over you should seriously pusblish a book. Look at the success of Eat, Pray, Love.

Leave a Reply

