Creamed corny goodness

5 Sep

This recipe is not a bit healthy in any way, but for potlucks and food-gatherings that call for generally awesome food, it’s perfect.  I’m not sure where it originally comes from, but today I made it based off a recipe that my aunt or cousin sent my mom.  It was inspired by some dish my sister was used to eat at the Dixie Chicken or some Southern comfort food restaurant in College Station, Texas, where she went to school.  I suppose I should ask my mom or my sister to get some more specific details, but the nitty gritty doesn’t really matter all that much anyway.  What matters is that this creamed corn recipe is damn delicious.  Make it.

Ingredients:
-1 large bag frozen corn
-1 green bell pepper
-1 orange bell pepper (or red, or 2 green), diced
-1 poblano pepper (this was my addition), diced
-16 oz. cream cheese (I used two 8 oz. blocks), softened
-1/4 cup unsalted butter (1/2 stick)
-1/2 t. cayenne pepper
-salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

Directions:
Put corn and diced peppers in a large pot.  Cover with about an inch of water and bring to a boil.  Once water comes to a boil, let it continue to cook for 8-10 minutes, until peppers begin to soften.  Drain vegetables and return to the pot.  Add butter and cream cheese and stir as they melt over medium-high heat.  Once the vegetables and cream cheese are thoroughly combined, add the spices and remove from heat.

That’s it!  Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

