Me Gusta Migas

4 Apr

Few things in life make me happier than sitting at a comfortable home desk, listening to the news, sipping coffee with milk, and eating some rockin’ home-cooked migas as I slowly poke about, getting ready to go on some adventure on an extra day off.  Today is Qing Ming, a national holiday in China that translates to “Tomb-Sweeping Day.”  As usual, I’m enjoying the day off entirely differently than the people around me; they are visiting ancestors’ tombs, and I’m savoring the combination of a lack of obligations and plentiful sunshine.

Hungry and needing food to start things fresh after a night of margaritas and birthday cheers, I whipped up some migas.  First and foremost, please understand the awesomeness of that statement.  I live in China, where corn tortillas aren’t on every corner.  I have to scrounge through the foreign food stores, checking freezers in high hopes that they might contain more than just one brand of only flour tortillas.  Recently, I got lucky, and the frozen stack of not-very-good-in-Texas corn tortillas in my freezer is heavenly.  Missing Mexican food lately, and inspired by a recent success with cooking eggs, I made up this variation (I am usually wary of making eggs because I so often mess them up – and who messes up eggs?).

Ingredients:

2 eggs
2 corn tortillas, cut into small 1/2-in. squares
1/4 cup milk
salt and pepper
red chili powder
1/4 cup shredded cheddar or colby jack cheese
1/2 T. butter
1/2 T. extra-virgin olive oil
2-3 T. tomatillo salsa

Directions:

Heat butter and oil in pan.  Add tortillas and saute until crispy and beginning to brown.  Meanwhile, whisk eggs, cheese, spices, and milk.  Add to pan and scramble on low heat.  Remove from pan and top with salsa.

Note:

I love the almost dulcet sound of Amy Goodman’s voice as she forces all the inflection from it in an attempt to hide her utter disgust at the news bite she delivered just moments before.  Also, serve these migas in warmed flour tortillas for an even tastier breakfast.

Leave a Reply

